Post Process

Everything to do with E-discovery & ESI

Privacy in the Age of Google and Social Media

Posted by rjbiii on September 1, 2010

Jeffrey Evans, CEO and founder of Tiger Text, expresses his concerns about privacy and hopes for a “cyber shredder” that will allow us some control of what information remains in the public domain. From the article:

In that same interview, Schmidt said, “I don’t believe society understands what happens when everything is available, knowable and recorded by everyone all the time.” Sadly, he is right.

I conducted a little experiment the other day. I told an intern at our office to use the internet to find out as much as he could about me in ten minutes. The only data he could use to launch his investigation were my name and the fact that I am the CEO of TigerText.

In about the same amount of time as it takes for me to make my kids’ breakfast on Saturday morning, he discovered my entire work history, dating back to jobs I had almost 20 years ago, and including where I went to college and business school. He even knew my salary at several of those jobs. Not concerned yet? There’s more.

Leave a Reply

 
